Thanksgiving Yumminess

I am very excited about some recipes that will be made at our place this week. It’s sad that I only make them at Thanksgiving, but after looking at the ingredients, I’m okay with it. After living in Georgia as a missionary and then later after Brian and I got married, I have come to love some great southern recipes. I decided to share a new family favorite, Sweet Potato Souffle. In the south, this is considered a vegetable side dish. I honestly think it is more of a dessert, but I’ll keep with southern tradition and include it as a vegetable side dish. I grew up with the marshmallow sweet potato stuff and I honestly disliked it. I dreaded when my mom made it. Once I had this souffle, I decided I would never let a Thanksgiving go by without it.

Enjoy! (If you are going to the church for Thanksgiving, this will be there.)

3 cups peeled, cooked, and mashed sweet potatoes

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter, melted

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 cup heavy cream, half-and-half, or whole milk

TOPPING:

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup pecans (that is pronounced pea-can)

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3 Tbs. butter, melted

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Mix all ingredients together except for cream. Beat with electric mixer until smooth. Add cream; mix well. Pour into greased casserole dish. Add topping. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

~Joy Gleason~

Leave a Reply

