Spotlight on Joy Baumgartner

This summer we had a lot of new families move into the ward and I have had so much fun getting to know many of them.  One of those families is the Baumgartner family.  I have had a few opportunities to chat with Joy and she seems to truly live up to her name because I always like talking with her and getting to know a little bit more about her.

Here is what she had to share with us about who she is.

Joy Baumgartner

 

I was born and raised in Davao City, Philippines. Davao City is the largest (areawise) city in the world.
The Philippines is largely a Roman Catholic country. My family joined the church when I was 7 months old.

Growing up I was teased a lot because of my religion. Catholic schools are the good schools in the Philippines so my parents sent me there. My classmates and nun teachers used to give me a hard time because of my belief. I was 13 when I made the decision to pray if The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is God’s true church. Heavenly Father answered my prayers. To show my gratitude to Him for answering my prayers I promised to serve a full-time mission. I did. I served in both the local and the Vietnamese speaking parts of the Philippines San Fernando Mission. Serving a mission helped me see better Heavenly Father’s love for His children – especially when I was serving in the Morong Vietnamese Refugee Camp.

My parents have 10 children. I am child number 8. I have 5 other siblings who served a full-time mission also. We are all eternally grateful for the two young missionaries who tracted, taught the Gospel, and baptized my family many years ago. (It is all their fault that our lives are so blessed because of the Gospel. LOL)

I have two Bachelor’s degree – in Biology and in Nursing. I went to college when I was 14. (I do not know what I was thinking then. LOL)

Joy & her Husband Chad

I married Chad 16 years ago last Friday (Oct 26th) in the Philippines Manila Temple. I moved around a lot because Chad is in the Navy. We have 3 children and we love them forever. One boy and two girls: Vicente (13), Zipporah (11) and Naomi (5). The girls were born in Japan. We lived in Japan twice – for a total of 7 years.

Naomi & Zipporah

 

Vicente

My husband, Chad, is attached to the USS Topeka. I arrived here in New England a few months ahead of my husband so I could get my kids settled into school.

I love temples. 🙂:)
I love to run, swim, dance, talk 🙂:)
I love people.
I love learning. I love teaching.
I am very shy, NOT. LOL.
I love to smile and laugh a lot.
I love York, Maine and New England.
I love Portsmouth Ward.
I love Relief Society.

Love,
Joy Baumgartner

P.s Thank you everyone for your warm spirits. We feel very welcome because of you all. I am very excited to get to know you all.

 

Ward Announcements:

Don’t forget about the Veteran’s dinner at the church tonight, the Fall Fiesta dance at the Stake Center tomorrow and the scouts food drive.

-Posted by Bri Lee

Leave a Reply

