Monday Menu-Food storage soup

During the storm we used everything we could from the fridge at dinner to try and keep the food from spoiling.  But I’ve been wanting to try and make some dinner from my food storage.  If the power went out for more than a day, I’d need to have that skill.  So last night I found this crockpot sausage and potato recipe and gave it a try.  I adapted it to use with my food storage.  Here is what I came up with

Sausage & Hash Brown Soup

2 cups Freeze-dried pork sausage crumbles

2 cups dehydrated hash brown potatoes

1/4 cup dehydrated onions

1/2 tsp celery seed

7 baby carrots chopped (or 1 cup dehydrated or freeze-dried carrots)

7 cups of chicken broth (or 7 cups of water with bouillon according to package direction)

 

Directions:

I just tossed all of the stuff into the crock pot and let it simmer on low for the whole afternoon.

The recipe suggested serving the soup with Cheddar cheese, salt, pepper or milk (You could use dry milk, or evaporated milk)

We liked it just the way it was and loved the idea of having a pot of soup cooking on the stove all afternoon in the event that the power goes out because it could help to keep the house warm.

So try out the soup and add it to the wonderful food storage recipes we got at our mid week activity a few months ago.  Thank you to our wonderful Relief Society presidency for making that activity happen.  I’m feeling more self reliant already 🙂

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

  • The next RS midweek activity is about 2 weeks away on November 14th.  It will be at 6:30pm and CHILDCARE IS PROVIDED (yippee!!!)  It is a service activity and we have been asked to sign up for 1 service that we need and 1 service that we are willing to share.  It sounds like this is going to be a great way for us to get to know each other, share with others, and receive help with something we are in need/want of.  No service it too big or too little.  (A social visit, sewing lesson, babysitting, yard work, a ride to the temple…)
  • The boy scouts will be collecting food for a local food pantry this month.  I don’t remember all the details on this, (I should because I think Sam is the scout master be he hasn’t said anything about it to me.)  Chery Caramagno made the announcement about it in RS on Sunday, so if you ask her about it I’m sure she would be happy to tell you all about it.

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Monday Menu-Food storage soup”

  1. Angela Says:

    I don’t know if I can make it to the service activity. But I was thinking of suggesting this same idea back in September. I want to learn to do things that would be useful and people from our ward know how to do the things I want to learn

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Bri Says:

      I’ll ask about it on Sunday, but I bet you don’t have to be at the activity to swap services. Maybe we can continue the idea beyond the activity and have a service swap list on the MOPS facebook page or something.

      Also, I just realized that today is not Monday. I got the reminder email that I am supposed to post next week and just wasn’t thinking about what day it was. Sorry everyone. I hope you enjoy the early post 🙂

  2. Ginger Johnson Says:

    Angela, you don’t have to be at the activity, and I’d LOVE to hear about the skills you’d like to know; I’d be happy to arrange midweek meetings on some of these things.

    And Bri, the early post is great! I think I might try a vegetarian version of that soup this weekend!

Leave a Reply

