Monday Menus by Pam

For my first real day of vacation, I sure have been busy today, so this is the first chance I have had to do today’s blog. Sorry it is so late.  I thought I would give you two recipes, one that I probably gave a long time ago, and then one that I just adjusted using some of my food storage.

This first one is my strawberry soup that I brought to our RS activity this past week.  It is very simple yet quite delicious and refreshing.

Strawberry Soup

One quart of fresh strawberries

One quart of vanilla, strawberry or plain yogurt

1/4 cup of fresh mint leaves

1/8-1/2 cup of sugar, depending on your strawberries and the kind of yogurt you use.

Using a food processor, puree the strawberries and mint leaves together.  Add the sugar and process a bit more until the sugar is dissolved.  Add the pureed strawberries  to the yogurt and mix well. Serve with fresh mint leaves as a garnish if so desired.

 

This next recipe is one that I used to make for my family many years ago.   I received it from a college roommate, and it is called western potatoes.  The recipe calls for fresh potatoes, but I decided to use my dehydrated potatoes that I bought from Emergency Essentials.  I will give you both the fresh potato directions and the dehydrated directions.

Western Potatoes

Place 4-5 whole potatoes with their skins on in a pot of water and then bring them to a boil.  Once they start to boil, remove them from the heat, drain and cool.  Peel and grate the potatoes and place in an 8×8 inch casserole dish.

or

Add three cups of water to a small saucepan and 1/4 teaspoon of salt.  Add 2 1/2 cup of dehydrated hash brown potatoes to the water, bring to a boil and cook for 7-10 minutes.  Remove from the heat and drain.    Add potatoes to the casserole dish.

Add the following to the potatoes:

One can of cream of chicken soup

5 green onions chopped

1 1/2 cups of grated cheddar cheese

Stir well and top with one cup of crushed corn flakes.  Drizzle one tablespoon of melted butter over the corn flakes.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.  Make six servings.  If using the fresh potatoes, cook for 60 minutes.

These potatoes were very yummy and I could not tell the difference between those I have made with fresh potatoes and these with the dehydrated potatoes.

 

Enjoy.

One Response to “Monday Menus by Pam”

  1. Donna Michell Says:

    In the West, among members of the Church, these are known as “funeral potatoes.”

Leave a Reply

