Friday Favorites–two days late

I am sure the reason this is two days late is because of my busy life, but I also think it is because I wasn’t sure what to write about.  After going to the adult session of conference last night, I think I shall write about my memories of that session.  I won’t remember all of the names but here goes.

The first speaker was a sister who talked about her “meditations”, wise sayings that she has on her refrigerator. She used those wise sayings to guide her talk about how life doesn’t always turn out the way we have planned it or envisioned it, yet, with the gospel and God in our life, we can still survive and grow. She talked about her struggles to raise her family when she suddenly found herself divorced and alone.  She said that she found her strength and guidance from listening to the prophets, whom she felt spoke directly to her.  Br. Perkes from the Somersworth Ward talked about repenting, and how repenting can bring change not only to our life but to the life of others.   He told us a story of a missionary who had a companion who wasn’t doing what he should, like refusing to get up for scripture study and resisting proselytizing.  When the first elder  went to the mission president for advice, he was told “repent”, so he did. When he changed his behavior, the companion surprisingly changed his.   We heard Br. and Sis. Wilkey talk about missionary work and its importance,  and finally Pres. Watson, who discussed the importance of growing, and that repentance is just one way to grow.    He particularly talked about the importance of going to the temple.  He reminisced about a time before we had the Boston Temple when we had  a stake goal of sending 500 people to the DC temple. I remember that goal;  I was one of those 500 people who went to the DC temple 16 years ago. Wade was a baby and I was going  for my own endowments.  What blessings we have now with the Boston Temple so close.

These are the kinds of talks that are given during the adult session of each stake conference.   I am always tired when I go because Saturdays are always so full of things to do, but I always leave the Exeter Stake building fortified.  If you haven’t gone to the adult sessions before, or haven’t in a long time, I encourage you to go in the fall. I know that parents will small children have a hard time doing this, but perhaps you can trade off so that one parent goes in the spring session and the other parent goes during the fall session.  We all need spiritual food and guidance, and the adult session of stake conference is one place to get it.  —Pam

2 Responses to “Friday Favorites–two days late”

  1. Donna Michell Says:

    Thank you, Pam. I also very much enjoyed the talks. When the first speaker, Sister Sargent, finished her talk, one of the older sisters sitting in front of us turned to another and told her that she (the speaker) was getting married soon. Afterward, I told her how much I enjoyed her talk. She and the man with her both smiled… It’s nice to know that some people are able to have another chance at marriage, though suffering and valiant struggling don’t guarantee anything like that.

  2. Ginger Johnson Says:

    Pam, I’m so glad you summarized these talks. I wasn’t able to go this time, because my husband was out of town, and I really missed it. I, too, love the Saturday evening sessions.

Leave a Reply

