Yogurt Pops-Monday Menus

With the warm weather we had last week I was reminded of some of the fun warm weather food my kids enjoy.  A few years back I decided that my kids needed a cool treat when they came in from playing outside in the heat, but I didn’t want to give them the cheep sugary popsicles and got tired of paying a lot for the healthier freezer treats that seemed to get used up SO FAST.  So I found a recipe to make my own.  I begin with a homemade yogurt recipe, then I use the yogurt to make popsicles.  (The homemade yogurt is just a way to lower the cost, but you could use store bought yogurt and come up with the same great tasting popsicles.)

Strawberry Yogurt popsicle (original recipe found here online)

1 cup sliced strawberries (frozen or fresh)

2 cups plain yogurt

1/4 cup honey

    1. puree strawberries in a food processor or blender
    2. Add yogurt and Honey
    3. Pour into small Dixi cups until each cup is about 3/4 full
    4. Insert popsicle sticks into cups and freeze
    5. when ready to eat, peel the paper off and enjoy.

Gwen helping me out

Our sticks normally freeze crooked, because I’m too lazy to use foil or plastic wrap to prop them up and I’m too forgetful to put the sticks in 1/2 way through the freezing process, but they are just as yummy regardless of if they are crooked or straight 🙂

Also, if you don’t want to use popsicle sticks, you could fill the cups up only 1/2 way and use toothpicks.  (We did that a lot in ice cube trays when I was a kid.) But with toothpicks you will want to put the 1/2 full cups in the freezer, set the timer for 30 minutes, then when it beeps they should be cold enough for the toothpicks to be inserted and stay put, or find another way for them to stay straight because the toothpicks are not long enough to hold while you are eating if they freeze crooked.

Maggie taste testing our work

There are A LOT of yogurt popsicle recipes online, so google a recipe for your favorite fruit.  (We have blueberry bushes in our new yard so I will be searching for a good blueberry-yogurt popsicle recipe to make this summer.)

And hopefully we will get lucky and see some more of that beautiful weather again soon.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

