Friday Favorites–Lora Lund

So I just discovered the ward blog when I was asked to do a Friday Favorites. I recall seeing it as part of the e-mails, but have never clicked on the link. (my bad) I think it will become one of my favorite blogs. :0)

This is Lora Lund – I noticed that it has been requested that when posting a blog you identify yourself. My husband and I moved here last fall from Japan. We lived there for two years.  We have three children. I am a Navy Wife so we have moved a lot.  I have lived in all four corners of the continental US and a sprinkling of states in the Middle as well as Hawaii and Japan. My current favorite is right here, where I am. I think my house is my all-time favorite.  I feel like I am living in a Jane Austen Novel. This is our fifth time to live in New England and I am seriously thinking this would be a perfect place to settle – once God lets us do that.

My favorite place in my house is my art studio.  I have wanted one for years and finally have one.  I find myself spending more and more time in there every day. I love the process of creating. My two favorite mediums are acrylics and colored pencils.

My favorite Color is Blue, every single shade of blue.  I have a hard time purchasing clothing that is not in the blue family.  I know I look good in blue it works with my coloring. This past year I have been trying to branch out and have actually purchased some greens and browns.

As a child my favorite movie was Pollyanna.  As an adult my favorite movie has been “While you were sleeping”. I am finding that I love time period BBC movies. I have always enjoyed Jane Austen movies.  I was recently introduced to “Downton Abbey” while I was in Utah and my Mom and I watched the entire second season in two days. I also enjoy some science fiction. Fringe is the one series I have watched consistently since I discovered it while living in a hotel by myself for two months in Japan.

I have two favorite hymns, “There is Sunshine in my soul today” and “Have I done any good”.

My favorite style of music varies, but there seems to be one constant – the piano.  The piano is always a prominent part be it alternative, country, classical etc.

My favorite person on earth is John Jay Lund.  I was smitten from the first time we met. After our first date I was convinced I wanted to marry him.  We were sealed in the Salt Lake Temple 59 days after we met. As the years pass I realize more and more what a great blessing he has been, and continues to be in my life. I love our story. Our three kids follow as a close second. I love spending time with them, they are my best friends.

My favorite book, that’s a tough one.  I think one that has made an impact on me that I think about during life’s trials is, “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom.  She and her sister did their best to recognize God’s blessings even in the most of dire of circumstances.

My final favorite is Genealogy and my ancestors. I love finding them, discovering who they were and doing their temple work.  I look forward to the time when I can meet them. I have to admit that I am a little jealous of my older brother who passed away a few years ago and has been able to meet the people I have been researching for years.

Leave a Reply

