Thursday Thoughts

Our lesson on Sunday in Relief Society was lesson #3, “Our Testimony of Jesus Christ”.  Here are some words of George Albert Smith as he discusses his testimony of the Savior.

“I have been buoyed up and, as it were, lifted out of myself and given power not  my own to teach the glorious  truths proclaimed by the Redeemer of the world.  I have  not seen Him face to face  but have enjoyed the companionship of His spirit and felt His presence in a way not to be mistaken.  I know that my Redeemer lives and gladly yield my humble efforts to establish His teachings. . .Every fibre of my being vibrates with the knowledge that He lives and some day all men will know it.”

“The Savior died that we might live.  He overcaame death and the grave and holds out to all who obey His teachings the hope of a glorious resurrection. . .I know this is the work of the Lord, that Jesus was indeed our  Savior.”

President Smith passed away on his 81st birthday, April 4, 1951. Duing the final moments of his life, with his family close by, his son asked, “Father, is there something you’d like to say to the family–something special?”

“With a smile, he reaffirmed the testimony  he had shared numerous times throughout  his life: “Yes, only this: I know that my Redeemer liveth; I know that my Redeemer liveth.”

Leave a Reply

