Monday Menus: It’s winter: eat soup!

–by Donna Mitchell

Dear Sisters,

I’m sorry this is a day behind. I forgot it was my week to post until Ginger reminded me. It has been a busy week so far, and we’re only a couple days into it! Yesterday, along with several people, I helped Shirley Brouillette pack boxes and haul boxes to the rental truck, and then I vacuumed (oh, my aching back…). I caught up on my usual Monday laundry last night. Today I took my husband to the airport, then did errands and some shopping on the way home. These are the kind of days where you need a simple meal (or leftovers, my favorite for easy). We like to round out a soup meal with bread and salad or fruit. I have made the first two recipes for our book group, where they were well received. I have wanted to share these recipes for a long time, and now is the right season, so here goes.

 

Thick n’ Hearty Chicken Cheese Soup (from a little booklet of six recipes on the Kirkland canned chicken package)

Ingredients:

1 cup carrots, shredded

1/4 cup green onion, sliced

3 tablespoons butter or margarine

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 cups milk

1 (10-3/4 oz) can chicken broth

1 (12.5 oz) can chunk breast of chicken

1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

Instructions:

In a medium saucepan, cook carrots and green onion in hot margarine or butter about 10 minutes, or until tender but not browned. Stir in flour. Slowly add milk, chicken broth, Worcestershire sauce and black pepper. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Stir in chicken and cheese. Cook and stir over low heat until cheese melts. Serve hot.

 

Ginger-Carrot Soup (from a friend in California)

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons cooking oil

3 cups thinly sliced onion

2 tablespoons suger

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger

8 carrots (about 1-1/4 pounds)

1 sweet potato

6 cups chicken broth

1 cup half-and-half, light cream, or evaporated milk

salt and ground black pepper to taste

Preparation:

1. For caramelized onions: in large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add sliced onion, sugar, and pepper; reduce heat to low. Cover and cook 30 minutes, stirring twice. Add ginger. Cook, uncovered, 20 to 30 minutes more or until onion is golden brown, stirring occasionally.

2. Meanwhile, peel carrots and sweet potato and cut in 1-inch pieces. In large saucepan or Dutch oven combine broth, carrots, and sweet potato. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, 40 minutes or until vegetables are very tender. Add the caramelized onions. Puree until nearly smooth with handheld blender or process 2 cups at a time in food processor. Add cream; heat through. Season to taste with salt and ground black pepper. Makes 12 (3/4 cup) side-dish servings.

On July 4, 2011, I posted several “all-American” family favorite food recipes. One of those was Corn Chowder, which goes along with today’s theme. At the risk of being redundant, I am reposting it today.

Corn Chowder (As a child I always preferred this to my mother’s clam chowder with its tasteless little rubbery bits. I’m over that and often eat clam chowder of my own free will, but I still enjoy this chowder.)

Ingredients:

2-4 slices diced bacon

1/2 cup diced onion

2 cups cubed raw potatoes

1 cup boiling water or corn liquid if using canned corn

2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 (10-ounce) pkg frozen whole kernel corn or 1 can corn, drained (Use liquid in place of water, above.)

2 cups milk

1 can evaporated milk

Instructions:

Fry bacon until crisp. Add onion and saute 5 minutes. Add potatoes, water or corn liquid, salt and pepper. Cook, covered, about 10 minutes. Add corn, cover and cook gently about 5 minutes or until vegetable is tender. Add milk and heat through.

Tags:

One Response to “Monday Menus: It’s winter: eat soup!”

  1. Bri Says:

    I’m so glad that you were able to help Sister Brouillette, I’m sure we are all happy to wait on your post to knowing that Shirley headed out of town with the help of friends. Can’t wait to try the recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

