Wednesday Words-quote for Mommy inspiration

I am often trying to find a parenting book with information that will apply to my kids RIGHT NOW, or something to inspire me to be a better parent, but this month I remembered that I really loved my experience with my Marriage and Family relations sunday school class that I took several years ago.  I felt silly that I had been searching for the perfect book to help me, when there was a church manual sitting on one of my shelfs all these years.  So one of my new years resolutions was to review the manual.  (HERE is a link to the PDF of the church issued manual.)

During this weeks study of it I came across this quote and loved it.

“Rely on Him. Rely on Him heavily. Rely on Him forever. And “press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope.” 11You are doing God’s work. You are doing it wonderfully well. He is blessing you and He will bless you, even—no, especially—when your days and your nights may be the most challenging. Like the woman who anonymously, meekly, perhaps even with hesitation and some embarrassment, fought her way through the crowd just to touch the hem of the Master’s garment, so Christ will say to the women who worry and wonder and sometimes weep over their responsibility as mothers, “Daughter, be of good comfort; thy faith hath made thee whole.” 12 And it will make your children whole as well.”-Elder Jeffery R. Holland

It is from a talk titled “Because she is a mother” by Elder Jeffrey R Holland.(HERE is a link to the whole talk on youtube if you want to listen to it.)

I think it was those last few lines that really got to me.  I hope they inspire you and help refuel you too.  I know that we are all in different stages in our lives and that we might not all be mothers right now.  But we are influencing those around us whether it is a kid next door, someone we encounter at work/in our callings, our own children (young or old) and for some of you your grandchildren.  Our experiences with them make us better people and as Elder Holland points out here, it makes them better too.

-Posted by Bri Lee

Leave a Reply

