Whole Wheat Bread

I was asked to post my whole wheat bread recipe. I wish I could claim it all to myself. I combined two recipes and it works. The ingredients are the usual bread ingredients. I have found it is in the mixing, kneading, and resting of the dough that makes bread the best. As my mom always says, your bread will reflect your attitude and I can vouch for that. If I have patience, I have the best bread ever. Let’s just not talk about the other times.

Whole Wheat Bread

  • 2 1/2 cups warm water
  • 1 Tbsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. yeast
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 cup white flour (this is my substitute for gluten/lecithin/vitamin C/whatever else other wheat bread recipes call for)
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour plus 3 to 4 more added in step 1 (I have only used fresh ground whole wheat. If you try store bought whole wheat, let me know if it works. Also, I grind the wheat right before I make the bread. I have tried using wheat I’ve ground a day or more before and my bread is much heavier.)
  1. Heat water to a very hot temperature (I use the microwave for 1 minute). Pour in mixing bowl with salt, yeast, honey, oil, white flour and 3 cups wheat flour. Mix for 5 minutes, then let it sit for 15 minutes. Mix again for 5 minutes, adding more flour until dough pulls away from sides of mixer. (I do use a Bosch for mixing my bread, but it can be mixed by hand and you will have great arm muscles!)
  2. After you’ve added the flour, knead the dough for 5 to 7 minutes. This is a very important step. This will help with the gluten and make your bread so it’s not so heavy.
  3. Let dough rise to double in size approximately 1 hour.
  4. Turn dough on sprayed counter and separate into two loaves. Place in greased bread pans and let rise for 1 hour.
  5. 15 minutes before the bread is done rising, turn on oven to 350. Once oven is heated, cook bread for 25-30 minutes. I don’t like my bread doughy. Sometimes I will turn my oven off and leave the bread in the oven for 5 more minutes with the door slightly open.
Good luck in your bread making. I’d be happy to come to your home or have you over to let you experiment making bread.
Leave a Reply

