Journaling Tips

Journals! Every time I think of journals I don’t have happy thoughts. I am terrible at it. I think the only time I was consistant was as a missionary when there really wan’t anything else to do at night. I was going to be that amazing mom that kept track of every little thing my child did. I can honestly say my husband is far better at keeping a journal then I am. I thought I’d share some ideas that have helped me keep somewhat of a journal.

  • Blogging! I love to blog and for some reason this works for me. I write about every family adventure and odd and end things on our family blog. I’ve found a few websites that will turn your blogs into books and pdf files.
  • Pictures! I count pictures as a journal. You can see what was happening in one quick click. Granted you may have to do some work and label the pictures, but with technology today, that can be very easy. You can even get really into it and do an electronic scrapbook for a journal. I count scrapbooking as journaling.
  • Family Journal Jars! This is all my husbands idea and it has worked so far. We have a jar of ideas to write about such as tell about your yard growing up; list all your aunts, uncles, and cousins; who is your favorite author and book. He just looked on-line and found a list. We printed them, cut them into strips, and put them in a jar. We don’t do this every night, but about three to four times a week. For little ones, you can give them a paper and have them color their answers. We have a three ring binder for Jocelyn to put in her entries. I’m thankful my husband has started us on this idea and hopefully we can keep it up.

I’d love to know what others do for journaling. I’m always reminded by Nephi on how important a journal is. ” I, Nephi, having been aborn of bgoodly cparents, therefore I wasdtaught somewhat in all the learning of my father; and having seen many eafflictions in the course of my days, nevertheless, having been highly favored of the Lord in all my days; yea, having had a great knowledge of the goodness and the mysteries of God, therefore I make a frecord of my proceedings in my days.” (! Nephi 1:1) My favorite part is that he states he is highly favored of the Lord, so therefore he is going to keep a record. That sounds like a good reason for all of us to keep a record.

Leave a Reply

