One of our favorites…

I was tempted to post some super yummy recipes that aren’t the healthiest, but I will wait for another day. Since it’s a new year and it seems to be the time of year that a lot of us try to eat healthier, I decided to share a food storage favorite that are on the healthier side. Don’t be scared off when you see wheat in this recipe. You don’t need wheat flour or a grinder. You just need a blender.

I got this recipe from Everyday Food Storage. I really like her website and I’ve learned how to use my food storage everyday. I don’t like storing a food that I don’t think we’ll like if we haven’t tried it. Plus, it is nice to have it healthy.

Blender Wheat Pancakes

Ingredients

Instructions
  1. Put milk and wheat kernels in blender.
  2. Blend on highest speed for 4 or 5 minutes or until batter is smooth.
  3. Add eggs, oil, baking powder, salt and honey or sugar to above batter.
  4. Blend on low.
  5. Pour out batter into pancakes from the actual blender jar (only one thing to wash!) onto a hot greased or Pam prepared griddle or large frying pan.
  6. Cook; flipping pancakes when bubbles pop and create holes.

You may notice she uses powder eggs and milk. You can get her conversion charts here. Scroll down the page and you can see where you can printout a lot of her handouts on using food storage. I have copies of them on my fridge and I use powder milk in almost all my cooking.

Leave a Reply

