Monday Recipes: Three Bean Chili

When I was nine (ten) months pregnant with Harper, I was nesting in the kitchen. 🙂 I wanted to make delicious meals for my family and take my cooking to the next level. I had been watching BYU TV and came across Liz Edmunds in The Food Nanny. I liked her simple, seemingly delicious meals and the reasons behind her making them. I immediately jumped online and ordered her recipe book (remember I was nesting and acted on every impulse). I was glad I did. It gave me the motivation to try some new meals for my family, all of which they have loved. This one I have made over and over again and just had it over our New Year’s weekend.

Three Bean Chili With Sausage

1 (14.5- ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained

1 pound lean ground beef (or mild Italian sauage)

1 pound maple-flavored bulk sausage (or any kind of sweet sausage)

1/4 medium onion, diced

1/4 cup red wine vinegar (omit if using crockpot)

1 (46-ounce) can tomato juice

1 (15-ounce) can black beans, undrained

1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans (or white cannelini), undrained

1 (15-ounce) can red kidney beans, undrained

3-4 tablespoons chili powder

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 tsp cayenne (optional)

2 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

Directions: Brown the meat and onion in a large pot or pan over medium-high heat. Drain the fat. If using the same pot, add the vinegar and cook for 1 minute to reduce the liquid. If using a crock pot, transfer the drained meat to the crock pot. Add the tomatoes, tomatoe juice, beans, chili powder, brown sugar, cayenne, salt and paprika. Decrease the heat and simmer for 1 hour. If using a crock pot, cook on low 4-6 hours.

Serve with shredded cheese and sour cream if desired. I also serve a side of cornbread to go along with it. This recipe makes 8-12 servings, but you can always freeze the leftovers. I’ll never go back to using ground beef again in my chili! Hope you enjoy.

Marie Hammill

Leave a Reply

