Tuesday Tip: Organization

If you’ve been to my house since we moved here, you know that organization has been something I have been struggling with. It has never really been my strong suit, but I had a pretty good routine going in our last house, and I felt I was staying on top of things. However, relocating our family and several back-to-back renovation projects have left me with several piles of things here and there that just don’t have a home yet. I have realized that I will have to tackle this problem in small bites rather than expect myself to take care of everything in one day, especially since Abby has entered the terrible two’s with a vengeance (this happened simultaneously with moving!).

After researching a little on this subject, I have found a lot of helpful tips. Here are a couple from Peter Walsh, an organization expert, that have seemed to be helping things, although I am far from having what I would call an organized house.

The first is to take the “OHIO” approach, which stands for Only Handle It Once. It means, when I pick something up, I should put it where it goes right then, rather than stash it away into another pile or on a shelf to be dealt with later. While that may seem obvious, I am the queen of making piles and this has been really helpful to me to remember.

Another tip is to commit to take 10 minutes each day to organize some space or pile that is a problem area. This is helpful to me, because it’s long enough to make progress, but short enough for me to strategically place it in my schedule for when Abby is occupied and not just creating more chaos in another room.

I could go on and on, but instead I’m off to clear off the top of my microwave, which has somehow accumulated a whole bunch of recipes and other little odds and ends. And, if you haven’t been to my house, come on over, it will give me some extra motivation to keep on cleaning!

Lori Trauntvein

Tags: ,

One Response to “Tuesday Tip: Organization”

  1. Sue Gong Says:

    Lori: I’ve heard this tip before and I struggle with the organization problem myself, but hearing it from you today gave me a big boost right when I needed it. Thanks for taking the time to write. Sue Gong

Leave a Reply

