Thursday Thoughts (on lesson)

I hope everyone enjoyed the Relief Society lesson this past week. I was not able to attend and I haven’t been able to attend since being called to primary. Our lesson in primary was suppose to be on Honoring the names of Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, we didn’t make it to church. From the lesson I did prepare, I found some things that were very helpful for our family and I am going to share those with you.

First, it is very common to hear people that do not respect the names of Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. Do we ever say anything? I know there have been times I really wish I had because I have caught my daughter repeating it. Of course, it makes a great opportunity to discuss this with her and teach her that it isn’t appropriate and to also tell others. After this conversation, I started to think of times that I should have said something because she was there. I have since decided I need to make an effort to show her how to kindly ask others to not use that kind of language around my family. You all may be experts on this, but this is something I’ve been thinking about lately.

Second, I found some fantastic videos on the church’s media site that showed great examples of youth standing up for using correct language. You may all have seen these videos, but I wanted to share them with you anyway. Here is a link to one that I found very inspiring, No Cussing Club. We can learn a lot from our youth. While serving a mission, I had no fears of sharing the gospel, but it sure is difficult now that I’m not a full-time missionary. I know this is stated so much by returned missionaries, but the feeling is so different and that is probably why we say it so much. I had wanted to talk to my primary class and ask them for ideas on how to overcome my fears of standing up to people when they use inappropriate language. I know youth don’t hesitate and I’d hoped to gain some strength from them.

Third, the lesson started out with talking about respecting each others names. Our names are important to us and it hurts if someone misuses our names as I’m sure it hurts Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. I really wanted to point out to my class the importance of respecting and using our peers names. I know I have struggled at remembering names and I feel embarrassed asking someone their name over and over again. Isn’t it nice when someone says your name when they are talking to you? Just remember what you find important about your name and strive to apply it to others names when talking to them. Here’s something fun: when checking out at the store, glance at the cashiers name, then when you are leaving tell them by name to have a great day. It is great to see their expressions.

 

Leave a Reply

