“One of THOSE days” Recipe

We all have days that fixing a meal just isn’t our top priority of planning it out. A friend shared this recipe and we both started calling it our “oh crap” recipe. These are items I always have on hand in my food storage. We fix it about every other month due to the ingredients, but it sure is handy to have when I need to fix a meal for a family, missionaries, or it’s just “one of those days.”

Creamy Chicken (in crockpot)

4 to 6 pieces chicken breasts (I do the frozen ones and do enough for one piece per adult. If they are bigger pieces, I do two per adult.)

1 can fat free cream of chicken soup 

1 pkg. fat free cream cheese (Yes, I always have this on hand. I buy it cheap and freeze it. The package says not to freeze it, but I have never had a problem with it.)

1 pkg. italian dressing mix (It’s the dry mix in the packets. I’ve tried italian seasoning in a pinch and it just wasn’t the same.)

Rice (However much you cook for your family/guests.)

Place chicken in bottom of crockpot; combine cream cheese, cream of chicken soup, and italian mix. Pour mixture over chicken. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high for 4. When chicken is done, open crockpot and shred chicken. (Tip: Use a potato masher to shred the chicken. I just mash straight down and twist with the masher and it works wonders. Now you don’t have to pull it out or attempt not to burn yourself while using a fork.) Place lid back on crockpot and cook for 30 more minutes. This is when you can get your rice cooking and complete your meal by adding some veggies to counteract all the cream.

Here are some links to my favorite recipe blogs. I could share TONS on this post, but I’ll spare the space and give you links to search for yourselves.

Our Best Bites (I haven’t found a bad recipe yet on this site.)

Kalyn’s Kitchen (specifically the 7 layer tostada’s)

Everyday Food Storage (She has great recipes for using food storage and my favorite is using powder milk in everyday cooking.)

The Tasty Cheapskate (This lady cooks meals for a month on $200. Warning: some are a little on the dry, bland, or weird side, but she has some great tips for cooking on a budget. You can even see her budget each month.)

Leave a Reply

