How to Make a Hidden Watering System for your Christmas Tree

I got so tired of trying to dig through presents, poking my eyes with the balsam branches, and breaking ornaments on my Christmas tree every time I tried to water it.  Reflecting on an old elementary school science project when I studied hydroponics, I thought that there must be a way with gravity and siphoning water that I could find a way of creating a water reservoir that would feed into the the tree stand and automatically water the tree.  I was thinking that I could find a way to disguise my contraption by placing a “fake” wrapped present over it.  All I would have to do for the entire season is periodically check the bucket of reserved water and replenish it as needed.  I shared my idea with my husband and lo and behold after researching the internet, some crafty little bugger beat me to it!  We visited the hardware store and picked up a large plastic bucket, two couplings, tubing and found a good size box to decorate as our decoy present to cover the contraption.  Here is the link with instructions on how to build it.  It is easy and fun ( a great boy scout project)!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-a-Hidden-Christmas-Tree-Watering-System/step1/Materials/

Another helpful hint: as soon as you bring the tree home (if not purchased as a fresh cut), make sure to saw off an inch or two from the bottom and place the tree into a bucket of water immediately.  This fresh cut will stay open and allow the tree to drink water throughout the holiday season.

Kristie

3 Responses to “How to Make a Hidden Watering System for your Christmas Tree”

  1. Pam Belanger Says:

    Kristie,
    What a wonderful idea. I will see if Wade will do it this weekend. I am sure he would appreciate an easier way of watering the tree since it usually falls on his shoulders, especially this year.
    Pam

  2. Ginger J Says:

    Love this!

  3. Nancy Says:

    Great idea Kristie. I think that this year we are going to put a Christmas tree on our porch. We have done this in the past and love seeing the Christmas lights through the woods as we drive home.

Leave a Reply

