Friday Favorites

One of my favorite past times is reading, and I certainly have had more time than usual lately to do this.   As a result, I have been able to read books that I have wanted to read for a long time but have never been able to get to.   One of those books is a series of books called the Mitford series.  A few years ago our book group decided to read a book called At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon.   I had bought the book with the intention of reading it, but life was too busy, (I was probably directing a play at the time.) and I had never read it until a few weeks ago.   It is now one of my favorite books, and what is even more fun is that this is just one of a series by the same author.   I liked this book so much that I have bought the second book in the series called A Light in the Window, and the third book called These High, Green Hills.  I am half way through A Light in the Window and love it just as much as the first one.  So you are probably wondering why I like these books so much.

The main character of the series is Father Timothy Kavanagh, a 60 year old priest for the Episcopal church in a little Southern town named Mitford.  Tim is a kind, loving pastor who loves God and serves His children.  He is a humble bachelor who spends so much time serving others that he forgets to serve himself, failing to take care of his health, his recreation and his love life.  But all of those things change when he discovers he has diabetes, adopts a large, black dog who obeys every time he hears scripture quoted, takes in a 10 year old boy who has  has been abandoned by his mother, and  falls for  a lovely new neighbor who writes and illustrates children’s books about her cat Violet. And while Father Tim is dealing with these new experiences in his life, he continues to serve the people of Mitford.

Mitford is filled with very human characters such as Miss Sadie who never married yet still loves the lost love from so many years ago;  Homeless Holmes who although he is missing one leg,  feeds his  poverty stricken neighbors once  a week with large pots of soup;  Miss Rose,  who suffers from mental illness, and her loving husband Uncle Billy who selflessly takes care of her, even though she is abusive to him most days; Puny, Father Tim’s house keeper who chastises and advises him to take better care of himself while she desires for love in her life.  All of these characters and many more are so real that  you feel like they could live in your own community.   They are human with all of the foibles so characteristic of humans.

I think what I like most about this series of books is the positive feeling I get when I am reading the book. I can honestly say that sometimes I feel the spirit.  Father Tim is such a good man, although certainly not perfect. He is always trying to do what he thinks the Lord will do, and as a result, he serves his neighbors, even if he doesn’t like them or if it is hard to do.

These books are great books to give as gifts and great to read during the holidays.   Pick up a copy of At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon and enjoy!

Pam

 

 

3 Responses to “Friday Favorites”

  1. Donna Michell Says:

    I have enjoyed reading these books in the past, borrowing them from my mother. They are worth reading again. I may put them on my Christmas list. Thanks for reminding me about them.

  2. Ginger J Says:

    Oh, I love them too! I read them years ago. If only my to-be-read pile weren’t so big, I’d read them again!

  3. Nancy Says:

    I vaguely remember reading, At Home in Mitford. I must have borrowed it from the library as it is not on my bookshelf. I’m going to look for it again.

Leave a Reply

