Tuesday Tips

Have you ever started making cookies or a cake only to find out half way into the process that you don’t have enough eggs or none at all?  You panic and wonder if you know your neighbor well enough to borrow some.   Do you have time to go to the store?   Well, if that has happened to you, as I am sure it has, then I have a tip that will help you avoid such events in the future, and it is something that you can put away into your food storage, too.

I learned a few years ago that Knox gelatin is a great egg substitute.   So when I found out, I bought a box and kept it in my cupboard.  There it sat for probably three or four years, untested, until  one day about four weeks ago, when I was craving my favorite molasses cookie recipe, and I begged Wade to make them for me.  Typical of a teenage boy, he did not look first to make sure that we had all of the ingredients, and he was horrified to find out half way through making the cookies that we were completely out of eggs.   Not to worry, I told him.  Use the Knox gelatin.   He was skeptical, but I told him to Google it to see how much to use.  About 30 minutes later, he brought to me two warm, delicious molasses cookies.   He told me he has used the Knox gelatin.

Here is what he did:  For the equivalence of one egg he used 1 teaspoon of the gelatin and dissolved it in 2 tablespoons of hot water.  He added to that 3 tablespoons of cold water and then  added the total amount to the creamed mixture.  He continued with the rest of the recipe.  I could not tell that he had not used eggs. The cookies had the same consistency as  when they are made with eggs, and they tasted the same.   They were wonderful!

What is nice about the Knox gelatin is that it has a long shelf life. It is perfect to put away in a food storage.   It is great in a pinch, too, as we found out.

 

One Response to “Tuesday Tips”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Wow, I never would have thought of that. Nancy

Leave a Reply

