Monday Menus by Pam

I know that it is officially Tuesday, but as I was sitting in my bed very bored, I realized that I was supposed to do the blog this week, so this is my attempt at catching up.

 

The recipe that I am giving you today is one that I use for my new electric pressure cooker that I bought from Cuisinart.  I am sure that it can be adapted to use for non pressure cooking.  Here it is.

RICE PILAF

1 1/2 T butter

1 cup finely chopped onion

1 medium carrot finely chopped

1 celery stalk finely chopped

3/4 cup of finely chopped broccoli flowerets

2 cups long grain white  rice

3 cups chicken broth

1 sage leaf (optional)

1/4 t salt (optional)

Melt the butter in the pressure cooker at the  saute setting. When butter is melted, saute all of the chopped vegetables, about 2-3 minutes.  Stir in the rice and saute until it turns opaque, about two minutes, stirring frequently.  Add the chicken broth, salt and sage leaf and put on lid and lock in place.  Select high pressure and set the timer for three minutes. When the timer has completed it cooking and the audible sound goes off, wait three minutes and then let the pressure out quickly, be careful that the steam releases away from you.  When the pressure valve drops and the pressure is down, open the cover away from your face.  The steam will be very hot.

This rice dish is similar Rice a Roni chicken and broccoli dish that my kids love, but I make it myself and it costs less and tastes better, and I am sure it is more healthy, too.  Far less salt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

