Friday Favorites: General Conference Weekend

I was looking forward to it so much that I actually totally spaced my blog responsibilities. What are your family traditions that make the weekend fun?

We especially like the late start here on the East Coast.  Plenty of time to sleep in and have a late brunch when church doesn’t even get going until noon. Saturday was also special because I know I have to throw out the tradition of working my kids to death cleaning all day and relax and we can all enjoy what I usually am suppossed to do this pregnancy- Relaxing. In  between conference on Saturday we usually play baseball or soccer in the back yard. I cheered this time.  On Sunday we got started watching home videos before the session and that’s what we did in also in between, and after until bedtime. That together with wonderful talks that lifted our spirits left us all feeling like the weekend had been the best. The kids took notes of each talk they listened to and recieved a treat for each one they could report on. I kept it small- A Hershey Kiss- since Caroline had over 20 talks she had scribbled notes on. She even was trying to take notes on the prayers.

Kennon took over for Mom and made our traditional Conference Cinnamon Rolls. They are always on the menu at our brunch and the kids won’t let us skip this tradition. I guess you could say it is their favorite.

Favorite Conference Cinnamon Rolls

1 T. yeast.

1 c. lukewarm milk

1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/3 butter, melted

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

4 cups or more flour

Combine yeast,warm milk and a little of the sugar and let it rise. Then combine all other ingredients adding flour at the end. I usually just stick with the 4 cups but sometimes add 1/2 c. or so more if it looks too sticky.

Rise till double.

Roll out into a large rectange and brush with 1/3 c. melted butter. Sprinkle 3/4 c. brown sugar and 2 T. cinnamon over.

Cut into rolls and put in a greased pan. Rise until puffy then bake at 350 for about 12 minutes.

Favorite Maple Glaze

Make this while they are baking. I prefer it to cream cheese frosting. It makes a lot so I usually half it.

1 c. butter, 1/2 c. milk. Heat together until butter melts.

Mix in on low heat just until combined: 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. maple flavoring, 1/2 pint sour cream, 3 c. powdered sugar.

You can add more powdered sugar for a thicker glaze (but also sweeter so I just stick with the runny glaze.

Enjoy. . . And once again so sorry that this comes too late for your General Conference. I hope that you all enjoyed being with your family and listening to the word of the Lord as much as I did.

Kashann

 

Leave a Reply

