Tuesday Tips: Totally random

Three tips:

1. After dinner we usually have a small portion of leftover cooked veggies, that usually get buried in the fridge and eventually thrown out. Here’s an idea that I just read about that I am starting now. Keep a large freezer bag in the freezer to store small bits of leftover vegetables such as beans, carrots, and corn. When the bag is full dump everything into a large soup pot; add beef, chicken, or vegetable broth, crushed tomatoes, and your favorite seasonings for a yummy soup. Note: can also add cooked ground beef, sausage, or turkey.

2. Want to add more fiber to your cooking? I keep a bag of wheat bran that I dump a few tablespoons into things like prepared pancake mix or bisquick. Or another idea is to grind up oatmeal in your blender to a flour. Then substitute some of the oat flour for white flour in cookies, pancakes etc. My kids don’t like the chunks but they can’t tell the difference when I disguise the oats this way.

3. I do a lot of painting on the spur of the moment and thus usually end up with a kid or two that swipe the wall/dresser and now has paint on their nice clothes. I used to just throw the item out or throw it into a painting clothes box until I discovered that Windex and a scrubber will almost always get it out.

Kashann

One Response to “Tuesday Tips: Totally random”

  1. Susan Grant Says:

    I always used to add oat flour that I ground up in the blender to pancake mix for my kids to make it more nourishing, and add a bit to cookie recipes etc., as well. It made it so much easier to not have to make pancakes from scratch. Then I’d make them in kitty, Mickey Mouse, and bunny shapes for them. It won’t be long before I’ll be able to make bunny pancakes for my granddaughter, Eliza!

    For soups I would add a few lentils to add protein without adding more meat, or white beans that don’t look as “icky” as dark colored beans.

Leave a Reply

