Tuesday Tips–Victorio Strainers and apple sauce

 

One of my most treasured kitchen accessories is my Victorio Strainer.   This little piece of equipment allows me to make, with little fuss,  apple sauce, apple butter, tomato sauce and any other food that needs to be pureed .

One of the pains of making applesauce is the peeling and coring of the apples.  With my Victorio strainer, all I have to do is wash and quarter the apples, soften them with a little apple cider over  medium heat, then pour them into the strainer.  I push the apples into the strainer while I crank the sieve.  Apple cores, seeds and skins come out one end and the sauce comes out the other.   Voila!  Applesauce.  When canning I put the sauce back into the pan, add some spices and sugar, and bring it to a boil.   I fill my jars and process them in my water bath canner.

For my applesauce I use a mixture of Cortlands, MacIntosh and a sweet apple like Honey Crisp or Gala or Jazz apples.   This makes a sweet and tasty sauce that needs little sugar.  Heat it up and add a little cream and it makes a great dessert on a cold winter’s night.

You can find Victorio Strainers at Amazon.com and any other place kitchen accessories are sold.  Even Emergency Essentials sells them.  They come with one basic sieve, but you can buy additional sieves, depending on your needs.They aren’t very expensive. You can find one at Amazon.com for about $60.00.  It is a great tool if  you plan on canning and preserving your own food.

Pam

 

 

 

One Response to “Tuesday Tips–Victorio Strainers and apple sauce”

  1. Nancy Says:

    I used to have one of those strainers. They work great!

Leave a Reply

