Friday Favorites: Fresh Peach Pie

We see signs now everywhere for Peaches ready to be picked. Here’s my favorite fresh peach recipe. I am making one for tonight. . .  I hope.

Just waiting for my husband and children to get out there and pick those fresh peaches I saw ready a couple miles away.

Fresh Peach Pie

2 1/2 c. peeled and sliced fresh peaches

1 cup sugar

3 Tbsp. cornstarch

Stir on the stove until thick. Then remove from heat and add 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 tsp. lemon juice. Cool then cover and refrigerate 3 hours. This is the glaze.

Sprinkle one 1 Tbsp. powdered sugar in a pie shell. (to keep the crust from going soggy)

Just before serving, peel and slice fresh peaches and arrange in pie shell. Top with glaze. Then spread center with whipped cream. I leave about an inch of around the edges so you can see the peaches. Eat right away.

Also another friday favorite I would like to mention is  Fiddlehead Farms on Central Ave in Dover. If you want to buy bargain produce that is the place to go. It is just a small little shop. Meats, Cheese the bakery are high end and too expensive for my budget but the produce is always well below even Market Basket. That’s where the peaches for my glaze came from that is waiting in the fridge now for the fresh peaches for the pie.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

