Monday Menus: Rotisserie Chicken

Here’s two meals for my family of 7 out of one purchased Rotisserie chicken.

I prefer to skip the lunchmeat and make sandwiches with Rotisserie chicken if we need a picnic lunch.

Spread bread with hummus. Then top with pieces of chicken and your favorite veggies. I like baby spinach, sliced tomatoes, and cucumbers.

Now don’t throw the chicken carcass away. Take off any leftover meat and set aside for soup for your next meal. And the carcass is to make the most delicious broth ever.

Place the whole chicken in boiling water and cook it for a while. Maybe 10 minutes. Then Add carrots, then your choice of broccoli, peas, corn, lima beans and onions and of course noodles and chicken pieces. Tortellini is very good but I usually just use egg noodles. Do not overcook noodles. Sometimes I even cook them separate and add after soup is done. Also if you use broccoli that should be added very late also.  Serve with parmesan cheese. Salt and pepper to taste.

Homemade Egg Noodles

If you want to, you can make your own noodles.

2 1/2 cups flour

1/4- 1/2 tsp. salt

Mix in bowl and make a well in the center of the mixture.

Combine 2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, and 1 T. melted butter. Pour into well, combine and knead for up to 5 minutes. If you are up to it. Then rest 10 minutes. Roll out on a flour surface into a rectangle. Pretty much as thin as you can. Then slice noodles with pizza cutter into desired lengths.

To cook boil in salt water (or soup) for 5 minutes.

2 Responses to “Monday Menus: Rotisserie Chicken”

  1. Donna Michell Says:

    I realize I am beginning to sound like a broken record (does anyone but Pam know what I am talking about?), but just to satisfy my own curiosity, who is posting this? Anonymous just bothers me for no good reason that I can explain. Maybe it’s just another one of my many compulsions, but it feels more personal when I know.

  2. portsmouthwardwomen Says:

    The post was written by Kashann. Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

