Tuesdays Tips

Fun Outside Activities to do with the Kiddos!

Now that the weather is improving and sunny days are ahead, I thought of a few fun activities to do with the kids.

Getting Green!!!

Yes, I mean green under your fingernails green!  Since it is getting too late to start seedlings, go to your local garden center with the kids and pick out a few young, tender plants i.e. tomatoes, herbs, lettuce, pumpkins, cukes, marigolds.  Just get 1 or 2 plants.  Let the kids pick out their favs.  You don’t need a large patch of ground and you can always use pots.  I was amazed at my daughter’s interest in planting her garden (and the night crawlers).  We planted pumpkins, gourds, cukes, cherry tomoatoes, lettuce, Zinnias and Marigolds.  The lettuce starts to grow quickly and we are already using it for dinner salads.  My daughter is so proud that she grew this on her own.  Now she has taken ownership of all my plants and gardens!

Bubbly Fun!

It is time to get the kids outside, keep cool, and keep ’em active and busy.  I just found my “lost” recipe for Homemade Bubbles.

Here it is:

2/3 cup Joy Dish Detergent (I use Dawn and it works fine)

1 Gallon Water

2-3 Tablespoons Glycerin (available at pharmacies but I found mine in a craft store)

In a large plastic bucket or bowl, gently stir together all ingredients.  Let sit uncovered overnight.  To blow bubbles, fashion hoops from pipe cleaners or tubes from toilet paper and pater towels.  We make giant hoops about 8 inches in diameter and it makes giant bubbles.  Even adults will have fun.  The liquid lasts for as long as you keep it so the kids can have hours of fun with this.

One Response to “Tuesdays Tips”

  1. portsmouthwardwomen Says:

    I apologize for the delay in getting the Tuesday Tips out. It was scheduled to publish this morning but apparently I did not set it correctly. I hope I can manage to get Wed’s goes out on time!

Leave a Reply

