Thursday Thoughts: Chapter 34, Developing Our Talents

I missed Sunday’s lesson; I was home with a very sick boy who wanted, more than anything, for mommy to hold his hand hours at a time. However, this has been a topic I’ve been thinking about for some time, ever since the Stake Relief Society Women’s Conference.

The lesson teaches that we all have different talents and abilities, and that we should use and improve our talents  (a la parable of the talents). Hearing this always makes me squeamish, for I immediately feel like I’m just not doing enough, and the guilt gland starts percolating.

But after reading the next subtitles, “We can develop our talents in spite of our weaknesses,” and “The Lord will bless us if we use our talents wisely,” I realized a few things: (1) there are a certain number of hours in a day, and (2) I do not spend my hours eating bon-bons and watching soap opera.

If I am not eating bon-bons and watching soap operas, what am I then doing with my hours? I’m developing my talents. If I were to go through a list of the things I do on a daily basis, are these not my talents? Sure, they’re not as tangible as some of the more visible talents–I’m not writing symphonies or painting masterpieces–but aren’t our talents simply another name for our stewardships? And if I perform my daily work, whether that’s cooking or cleaning or organizing or listening or writing or whatever, to the best of my ability, then I’m developing my talents, right? I think so.

So, if you’ll forgive me, I’d prefer to think of this lesson as “Developing our Stewardships.” Then there’s no guilt involved.

What do you think?

-Ginger

Tags:

Leave a Reply

