Monday Menus

Food? Again? Didn’t I just go shopping? Apparently the young ones are going through growth spurts because I can’t seem to keep anything around.

We’re not eating anything exciting this week, other than a splurge on salmon one night. We all love salmon, and as it’s warming up, it’s time to fire up the grill. Besides, salmon is full of good things, like Omega-3s, which apparently fend off those nasty depression imps that plague me.

I bought some salmon last week. We grilled it and served it with an orange and serrano pepper salsa (cut off pith and peel from two oranges, section out, and cut into small pieces. Add a finely diced serrano or jalapeno pepper, sliced scallions or finely diced onion, about 1/2 tsp cumin, some salt and pepper and parsley or cilantro). The boys skipped the salsa, preferring to eat their fish plain. I put the salsa both on salmon and on basmati rice. Good stuff. So good, in fact, that we’re repeating this week.

Other than that, I’ve  had three granny smith apples rolling around in my fridge for a few days–not enough to make a pie with, and no one here likes their apples of the granny smith variety (cue pucker face), so I’m going to make a German apple pancake one night. Then Bill can pull out his fresh maple syrup, and the boys will get their bacon. I’m not sure how well the pancake will go over…maybe I’ll eat the pancake, and everyone else will just have the fixin’s!

Here’s my recipe (adapted from Nov. 2004 Gourmet):

1/2 stick butter

1 large sweet apple, cut into 1/4 in wedges

1/2 c whole milk

1/2 c flour

4 eggs

3 Tbsp sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

 

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees

2. Melt butter in 10- to 11-inch cast-iron or other ovenproof skillet. Transfer 2 Tbsp to a blender. Add apple wedges to skillet and cook, turning once until beginning to soften, 3-5 min.

3. While apple is cooking, add milk, flour, eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt to blender. Blend until smooth.

4. Pour batter over apple and transfer to oven. Bake until pancake is puffed and golden, about 15 minutes.

Serves two.

 

Now that I’m looking at the recipe, I realize I’ll probably double it–or have lots of side dishes (fruit, oatmeal, bacon, etc.). I haven’t made this in a while–not since my boys grew out of their food allergies, so I haven’t needed to make it family-sized.

 

What are you eating this week?

-Ginger

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Monday Menus”

  1. Nancy Bussey Says:

    My comment that I left yesterday belongs on Menu helps, not decorating. I didn’t know where to put it, now I do.

  2. portsmouthwardwomen Says:

    Hey Nancy! I (Melanie) don’t know how to “move” your post, but you can “repost” it in the spot you want. Thanks so much for your input!

  3. Nancy Bussey Says:

    This is the post. The menus were originially put together by the US Government for people on food stamps. The menus cost more now than the stated costs since prices have gone up for food. But still a very worth while site.

  4. Nancy Bussey Says:

    http://recipefinder.nal.usda.gov/

Leave a Reply

