Thursday Thoughts

I am SOOO excited to enjoy the conference weekend with my family.  I look forward to it every year and have been trying to instill that excitement in my children. I am thankful to my parents for teaching me at a young age to attend ALL sessions of conference (Saturdays usually have the best talks, fyi)  and they always found a way to make it a special weekend for the family. That was back in the days when we all went to the church for the broadcast. On Saturday we would often go out to lunch in between, and on Sunday we sometimes had a picnic. My family now has a tradition of Conference Cinnamon rolls. I have to make them. It’s mandatory. I also provide incentives for each talk that they listen to and can prove it by the excellent notes they take. The younger kids draw a picture of the speaker complete with the color and design of the tie.

As we participate in general conference, President Eyring says we “might pray and ponder, asking the question: Did God send a message that was just for me?”

We also need to exercise faith in God in order for us to learn from the messages and receive inspiration, President Eyring teaches. “You show your trust in Him when you listen with the intent to learn and repent and then you go and do whatever He asks. If you trust God enough to listen for His message in every sermon, song, and prayer in this conference, you will find it.”

I am so thankful for our Prophet and for the joy I receive when I listen to and follow his commands.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

