Monday: Menus and Meals

In honor of pi day (3.14) today, we’ll be having pie of some variety. I’d rather do a pot pie instead of a dessert pie, because dessert pies rarely get eaten completely in our house, but of course I never remember it’s pi day until pi day is upon us, and I’m not prepared for a savory pi day. With one child sick, I think I’m going to have to make do with what I’ve got on hand. Ah ha! Quiche! That counts, doesn’t it? {NB: come make pie crusts with us April 13th!}

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, we’ll be having corned beef and cabbage in the crock pot. Yes, I know it’s not really Irish, but it’s what we eat on St. Patrick’s day.

In honor of the day after St. Patrick’s day, we’ll be having reuben sandwiches with the leftovers.

In between, we’ll be having Tuscan white bean soup, pasta with ragu sauce, and  homemade pizza.

And one night, in honor of being tired, we’ll be having cheese and crackers. Tra la.

Here’s my recipe for pizza dough (via Norr’s Ark, Rochester, NY). I usually double the recipe, making four thin crust pizzas so we have leftovers for the next day. It’s a fast recipe, which makes it one of my go-to recipes on nights that I am not prepared to face The Kitchen.

1 1/4 c warm water

2 1/2 tsp yeast

1 1/2 tsp sugar

Brew these together for 5 minutes. Add:

3 c flour

1 1/2 Tbsp oil

1 tsp salt

Mix together, kneading for 3-4 minutes. Cover and let rest for 12 minutes. Cut in half for 2 thin crust pizzas or leave whole for one thicker pizza. Stretch into round, cover with sauce and toppings. Bake at 500 degrees for 10 min. We own a pizza stone, so I make the pizzas on parchment, then slide the parchment on to the preheated stone for a nice crust.

One pound of mozzarella and one 14 oz can of either pizza sauce or jazzed-up tomato sauce covers the four pizzas. I make two of the pizzas with pepperoni and black olives for the carnivores in the family, and two of them with black olives, red peppers, banana peppers, onions, and feta cheese for the others, um, that would be me.

Happy Monday!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

